Circulation | Library Policies
Whether you're an avid library user or new to the Carroll University Library, it's important to be familiar with basic circulation policies. Here are some frequently asked questions regarding the borrowing and lending of library materials. If you have any questions on circulation policy, please feel free to ask at the Circulation Desk or call us at 262.524.7175. Our staff will be happy to assist you!
Who is allowed to check out items?
Carroll University students, faculty and staff
Currently enrolled Carroll students, along with faculty and staff, may borrow materials using their PiONEer Card. Students are expected to carry their IDs at all times and to keep their PiONEer Card until they graduate or leave the university. Students are required to present their PiONEer Card when requested by a university employee.
Members of the community may borrow materials by purchasing a Community Patron Card issued by the library. A non-refundable fee of $25.00 is charged for the card and covers 12 months from the date of purchase. A valid Wisconsin photo ID is required when purchasing the card. Members of the clergy and faith-based leaders of Waukesha County may have the $25.00 fee waived when showing their business card. The Community Patron Card allows for the check out of books, CDs, and DVDs only. 5 items may be checked out at one time. The Community Patron Card must be presented to check out items. No interlibrary loan privileges are provided. Community patrons cannot check out reserve materials, cannot access online databases or computers. All community patrons are responsible for payment of fines associated with late, lost, or damaged items.
We are happy to offer library checkout privileges to our alumni with a valid Carroll ID. If you don't have a current alumni card, please contact or visit the Campus Center Information Desk to obtain one. Once the office verifies your alumni status, a PiONEer Card will be printed for you.
Can't make it during the posted hours? You may still email the card office for an appointment to obtain your PiONEer Card. Need to replace your Alumni PiONEer Card? Damaged cards are $10. Lost cards are $20. For more information, contact firstname.lastname@example.org, or email@example.com. You may also call Alumni Relations at 262.524.7237 or the Circulation Desk at 262.524.7175.
Your alumni card will be valid for a period of one year from the date it was issued. At the end of the one year period, you may re-instate your alumni card providing there are no monetary obligations to the library. Alumni can check out books, CDs, DVDs and you can check out up to 10 items at a time. You must have your Alumni card at the time of check-out. Alumni do not have access to databases through the library's site and cannot check out reserve items.
Online Databases from State of Wisconsin
If you are a state of Wisconsin resident, you can get database access through your local public library or BadgerLink - a project of the Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction (DPI). Due to licensing restrictions, Badgerlink resources are restricted to Wisconsin residents. A system of IP (Internet Protocol) detection is used to determine the eligibility of site visitors.
What can I check out (students)?
Current students (undergraduate and graduate) can check out books, CDs, DVDs, and class reserve materials. You must have your PiONEer Card at the time of check-out. You can check out up to 25 items at a time.
Reference materials, periodicals, newspapers, archives materials, and special collections books do not circulate.
What can I check out (faculty/staff?)
Current faculty and staff can check out books, CDs, DVDs, and class reserve materials. You must have your PiONEer Card at the time of check-out. You can check out up to 35 items at a time.
Most materials that circulate may be checked out for 28 days and can be renewed twice (unless the item is on Reserve).
DVDs and CDs circulate for 7 days and can be renewed twice (unless the item is on Reserve.)
Most reserve items circulate for 2 hours, but they can be anything from 2 hours up to 3 days. The reserves record in the Library Catalog should include the check out time if it's anything other than a 2 hour check out time. Reserves items cannot be renewed, but please let us know if you need material for your class longer.
Faculty and staff can renew items twice for the same length of time if no one has requested the item. Materials can either be renewed in person, online from the Library Catalog, or you may call to renew your materials by phone by calling the Circulation Desk at 262.524.7175. Find instructions on how to renew online.
Faculty members follow same library fine rules as students at the Carroll Library.
How long can I keep something checked out for?
Most materials that circulate may be checked out for 28 days and can be renewed once (unless the item is on Reserve.) Faculty and staff can renew materials twice.
DVDs and CDs circulate for 7 days and can be renewed once (unless the item is on Reserve). Faculty and staff can renew materials twice.
Most reserve items circulate for 2 hours, but they can be anything from 2 hours up to 3 days. The reserves record in the Library Catalog should include the check out time if it's anything other than a 2 hour check out time. Reserves items cannot be renewed.
If an item is still needed at the end of the original loan period, it can be renewed once for the same length of time if no one has requested the item. Materials can either be renewed in person, online from the Library Catalog, or you may call to renew your materials by phone by calling the Circulation Desk at 262.524.7175. Find instructions on how to renew online.
The library will not generally recall any checked out items unless the item is needed for the course reserve. The names of those having materials checked out are never divulged. The Library Catalog indicates when checked-out materials are due. Please talk to the circulation staff if you need a hold placed on an item.
An item is overdue when it has not been returned by the due date. You can always see the due date by logging into your library record from the Library Catalog. You can also renew items there, including items that are already overdue. Remember- you only get one renewal per item!
The library sends several types of overdue notices:
- Courtesy notice: this is sent 3 days before the item is due if it's a 28 day item, 1 day before the item is due if it's a 7 day item. Reserve items do not get courtesy notices because of the shorter checkout time period. Courtesy notices are emailed to your Carroll email address.
- First overdue: this is sent via email to your Carroll email address once the item is 4 days overdue for a 28 day item, 1 day overdue for a 7 day item.
- Second overdue: this is sent via email to your Carroll email address once the item is 7 days overdue for a 28 day item, 4 days overdue for a 7 day item.
- Billed notice: this is sent via email to your Carroll email address once the item is 30 days overdue for a 28 item, 15 days overdue for a 7 day item. Billed notices are also mailed.
Failure to receive a notice does not alter the borrower's responsibility for an item.
Please contact Denise Friestedt with questions at 262.524.7179 or firstname.lastname@example.org.
Fines for overdue items
Overdue fines will be charged at the rate of $0.25 per day. The fine for overdue reserves material $0.50 for each hour the item is overdue. If you pay your fines when the items are returned, we will cut the fine for that item in half. We accept cash, check, or Carroll Cash for library fines. Unfortunately, the library does not accept credit cards for fine payment at this time. Please contact Denise Friestedt with questions at 262.524.7179 or email@example.com.
Charges for lost/billed items
Items overdue for more than twice their original circulation period will be billed as lost. Charges for lost items include the standardized cost of replacement at $50.00 per item, plus $10.00 in fines, totaling $60.00. The library reserves the right to charge more than $50.00 if the true cost of a replacement exceeds $50.00. These charges apply to each lost item. If an item is returned that has a status of billed/lost item, you will only be charged for the overdue fine. Charges for lost items will be transferred to the Business Office for collection 60 days after the due date. After a charge is transferred to the Business Office, the library will no longer accept the item back, nor will we accept payment for the item. You may have holds placed on your account if these fines are not paid at the Business Office. Please contact Denise Friestedt with questions at 262.524.7179 or firstname.lastname@example.org.
Some items in used for courses are placed on Reserve by instructors. These items are stored behind the Circulation Desk. Reserve items will not be held for later pickup. Materials on 2-hour reserve are checked out during the day for two hours only, but may be checked out within two hours of closing to be returned within one hour of opening the next day the Library is open. All reserve items must be returned to the Circulation Desk. Please do not return these items in a book drop.
Book drops are available for patrons who want to return books during hours that the library is closed. One is located outside the library entrance and the other is located in parking lot entryway in the Campus Center.