President Gnadinger Honored as a 2020 Woman of Influence

Author: Carroll University

Published Date: 6/10/2020

Categories: Faculty and Staff University News

President Cindy Gnadinger
Cindy Gnadinger is Carroll's 15th president. 

President Cindy Gnadinger has been named one of the Milwaukee Business Journal’s 2020 Women of Influence winners. The list includes prominent business and community leaders from throughout southeastern Wisconsin. 

Gnadinger is one of 30 women selected from among almost 200 nominations. She was inaugurated as the 15th president of Carroll in March 2018, and is the first woman president in the school’s 174-year history.

“I’m very honored to be among the women leaders who are receiving the award this year,” Gnadinger said. “And, as Carroll approaches our 175th anniversary, we will continue to build on our history of breaking new ground while providing an exceptional experience to our students.”

An excerpt from Gnadinger’s nomination to the Business Journal said: “Dr. Cindy Gnadinger represents strong women in leadership who are making a difference throughout the community, and she is bringing new innovation to higher education.”

During her tenure, Carroll University welcomed its second-largest first-year class ever, established an Associate Degree in Nursing program in partnership with the United Community Center, launched the Analytics and Business Intelligence Consortium, announced a new esports program and purchased a medical clinic building to partner with St. Joseph's Free Medical Clinic. The space will provide free healthcare to the underserved and provide clinical space for Carroll students.

Before leading Carroll, Gnadinger was president of St. Catharine College in Kentucky and served in various administrative roles at Bellarmine University in Louisville. Gnadinger, who has almost three decades of experience in education, earned a bachelor’s degree from Western Kentucky University, a master’s degree from the University of Louisville and holds a doctorate in education supervision from the University of Louisville.

Other 2020 Women of Influence winners include Betsy Brenner, former publisher of the Milwaukee Journal Sentinel and past president of nonprofit After Breast Cancer Diagnosis; Pastor Pamela Hines of Christian Faith Fellowship Church; and Marjorie Rucker of The Business Council.

This is the 20th year for the awards. Previous winners include Wisconsin Supreme Court Justice Rebecca Dallet, TMJ4 anchor Susan Kim, TEMPO Milwaukee president Jen Dirks, Johnson Financial Group chairwoman Helen Johnson-Leipold, Children's Hospital of Wisconsin president and CEO Peggy Troy and Hispanic Chamber of Commerce of Wisconsin CEO Maria Monreal-Cameron. Winners will be recognized in a special section of the Business Journal July 31 and during a Sept. 24 event.


Stay Informed With CARROLL NEWS

Panoramic View of campus